Our Team

Our team of staff are committed to providing the highest standards of childcare and supporting your child as they learn and grow.  We are a small team and have a minimum of staff to child ratio of 1:4 (for children aged 2) and 1:8 (for children aged 3) in line with government recommendations.  Each child is assigned a key person, who works with and cares for that child.  All members of the team are fully qualified and trained in paediatric first aid.

Linda Scott, Manager

Safeguarding Lead, 2 Year Lead
Level 3 Children’s Care , Learning and Development
Child Protection Level 2


Zena Sawyer, Deputy Manager

Deputy Safeguarding Lead
Level 3 Children’s Care, Learning and Development
Child Protection 1 and 2
Promoting Positive Behaviour

javis150scaledJulie Jarvis, Teaching Assistant

Level 3 Diploma for the Children and Young People’s Workforce
Safeguarding Children v3
Special Educational Needs Coordinator


Lisa Weait, Teaching Assistant

Safeguarding Children v3
Admissions, Funding,
Admin Children v3

Ruth Andrews, Teaching Assistant

PGCE & QTS in Primary Education


Our Committee

As a registered charity St John’s Preschool is managed by a committee of parent/carer volunteers.  Our committee is vital to the smooth running of the preschool and our members work with the Manager and staff to create a preschool that we are immensely proud of.

Responsible for all aspects of oversight and governance for the preschool, the committee is also responsible for the financial running of the preschool from setting budgets to chasing payments.  The committee also organise events throughout the year to raise vital funds for the preschool.

We actively encourage parents and carers to get involved with preschool life.  Not only is it hugely rewarding, it is a great way to meet other parents.  If you are interested in joining the committee or simply would like to help out now and again please get in touch.

Gemma Sherry, Chair

Now working part time, I feel I have skills that could be used whilst giving me my leadership mojo back.  As a former operational director, I’ve been responsible for many different individuals throughout my career and felt this would be both  a challenge and great opportunity to share my experiences to work with the staff to continue to improve our brilliant preschool.

Gillian Thomas, Secretary

I joined the committee as I thought it was a really lovely opportunity to get to know the other parents and teachers better, to support what is a really fantastic little preschool and to put my HR career experience to good use by supporting and developing the Committee and Staff.

Lauren Singer, Treasurer

After attending St. John’s preschool myself some years ago, and my own mum being the treasurer, I felt it was only right that I followed in her footsteps and stepped up to take the same role on. I wanted to be involved to make a difference in my children’s future, and to meet other mums with children of the same age. 

Lauren Willis, Social Media and Fundraising

I joined the committee over a year ago, soon after my eldest started at St Johns Preschool. I felt that I had time to offer my skills to make a difference to this cause. My background is a creative and promotional one so being part of the fundraising and social media side of the preschool charity was perfect for me. It also came at a great time as I had a 10 month old baby and it really helped in me being seen as Lauren rather then Luca and Orly’s mummy.